It Is Well

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,

When sorrows like sea billows roll;

Whatever my lot,

Thou hast taught me to say,

It is well, it is well with my soul.

 If you have been following my journey over the past 4 weeks, you know that I thought and prayed long and hard about the decision I made not to go to Tisch. When it came down to it, I had to figure out what I really wanted out of my undergrad experience. While that decision will influence my life after college (I won’t be $200k in debt when I graduate), I had to focus on the environment my personality would do best in and the sort of place I wanted to grow as a person and as a performer. After 4 weeks of prayer, all that I knew for sure was that I had heard “be still” loud and clear. I am at peace with the decision, and am trusting that the Lord’s plan for my life is so much greater than anything I could ever imagine. I also realized during the contemplation period that it’s ok for dreams to change. Yes, I did have a dream as a little girl to go to Tisch, but as I began to dig deep into the “dream,” I ultimately discovered the goal of that dream was to be in a program where I could receive training in dance, music, and acting to prepare me for a successful future in the entertainment industry doing what I love…successful future in the entertainment industry doing what I love, that’s the goal; it doesn’t matter how I get to the final destination, that final goal, as long as I grow along the way. That was my first epiphany. Aside from that, I reassessed all of my other dreams: pursuing grad school (maybe for drama, maybe for journalism, or maybe for law), traveling, becoming the person I want to be, getting married, building a family, retiring, etc. (I’m still working on the whole “live in the present” thing). From there, I honed in a bit on who I am…I decided I would grow more in a smaller environment, with individualized attention, exploring all different areas of study. I love performing and will pursue it professionally, but I also love academia and writing and literature and being at a school where I know almost everyone and where the “passing hello” is alive and well. I like Southern hospitality. I like my sorority. I like the community I have been welcomed into where I am. I like being close to family. I like knowing I am not expected to know everything and have all of the answers, because I’m not a fully grown adult. I have so much to learn. I have so many life experiences to be had. So for now, I am going to “be still,” and continue to pursue my dreams where I am…

and that is well with my soul.

FullSizeRender (13).jpg

2 thoughts on “It Is Well

  1. I can relate to this so much! This year, I had to reject my dream school and save myself the pain of diving into heaps on financial debt in order to attend, and I have realized since then that the Lord is simply guiding me into something better, and that my dreams are still on the horizon. Thank you for sharing your story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

